top of page

Chicken Soup with Rice


Photo from my kitchen

I'm sure there are people wondering why I named my blog after food when there are no food reviews or recipes on this site. The simple answer is Chicken Soup with Rice is my comfort food. My mom used to make it for me when I was little, then I learned to make it for myself when I was a teenager. I still eat it if I am sick or on days when I just feel that I cannot mentally handle the word anymore. On a rare occasion, I will even make it for my mom when she is sick. My husband does not appreciate it, claiming that it tastes bland. He has no love for anything that does not contain spices or peppers.


The recipe is easy and is adjustable to any taste just by adding spices:


Chicken Soup with Rice


Ingredients:

  • 1 can of Campbell's Cream of Chicken condensed soup

  • Water

  • Salt and seasoning to taste

  • 1-2 cups white minute rice


Directions:

  • Add one can of Campbell's Cream of Chicken to a medium saucepan and stir

  • Fill the empty soup can with water and slowly add to the condensed soup while stirring

    • Use a 1/2 can for a more creamy soup, a full can for a more liquidy soup

  • Add salt and seasonings to taste (optional)

  • Boil over medium heat, stirring occasionally; remove from heat when it starts to boil

  • Add 1 and 1/2 cups of minute rice (more or less to preference)

    • As my little brother would say, less rice for a "soupy" soup, more for a "ricey" soup

    • You can use pre-cooked white rice instead of minute rice, but you might want to add salt or seasoning because it will be bland

  • Cover and let stand for 10 minutes

    • If using pre-cooked rice, stir until the rice is hot, then serve—do not wait the 10 minutes

  • Remove lid after 10 minutes—do not wait too long or it will get a skin

  • Stir soup and serve

  • Refrigerate leftovers

Note: this soup is best when it is cooked by someone who cares about you.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Downward Spiral

My battle with anxiety and depression nearly came to an end, and all because I have an inconsiderate asshole for a neighbor.

bottom of page