top of page

The Thyroid Issue

Since I currently qualify for medical assistance through my state, I finally made a return visit to my doctor. I don’t really care for this doctor and find his repetitive answer of “diet and exercise” to be extremely annoying, but I needed someone to order tests, so I scheduled an appointment.


As expected, he put in for cholesterol and sugar bloodwork, which I was sad to see that my cholesterol is higher than it’s ever been. Maybe that’s from my increased cravings for meat and milk as my fractured bone heals, though my mom insists on keeping potato chips in the house and I struggle to avoid that bag of Middleswarth—the taste is far too tempting and after just one chip, I crave them for weeks.


What the doctor didn’t order was a check of my thyroid, so I asked during my visit. I also insisted on a bone density check, which the doctor was adamant my insurance wouldn’t cover it. Given my early menopause, it certainly was covered, and I learned that I am at an increased risk for fracture and have osteopenia. I now take chewable calcium and vitamin D supplements. They are actually quite delicious.


My thyroid stimulating hormone, usually abbreviated as TSH, had been steadily increasing over time, jumping a little with each test every six months. It had been a year since my last blood test thanks to unaffordable healthcare, and then the loss of insurance entirely. My TSH jumped from 6.21 to 8.71, putting me closer to hypothyroidism. Even before this jump, I have what is called “subclinical hypothyroidism,” which, from my understanding, basically means I’m not quite at the level for hypothyroidism, which is 10 and up, but could be heading there.

A line chart showing TSH level from 2018 to 2023
My TSH level over time

With my number being so close to the range and increasing at a steady pace, the doctor actually prescribed me medication. My mom’s previous doctor prescribed the same medication when my mom’s TSH was around 6, so I expected I would be on this medication sooner. After some back and forth between the pharmacy and the doctor, who had put in the prescription for the name brand only, nevermind the fact that my insurance was not going to cover anything but generics, I finally had low-dose levothyroxine.


I started taking my new medication on a Thursday. I expected an increase in anxiety because it was something new for me—anything new almost always increases my anxiety level a little, and I have come to accept that as normal. However, by day three I noticed my anxiety was higher than usual, and though I had to travel that day, which always makes me anxious and sick, it was worse than normal. Day four was about the same, and day five felt like I drank way too much coffee. I was having some shortness of breath here and there since day three, and on day five I started having a fluttering feeling in my chest. That was the last day I took the levothyroxine.


I sent a message to the doctor about my concerns, and he replied that my numbers were not that high, so I should stop taking the medication. The worst part was I felt that my knee was getting better, though it does have it’s good days and bad, so perhaps it was just a coincidence. Still, with my TSH creeping upward, I will need this medication eventually, or some other form of thyroid hormone pills.


I started researching online and read many posts on Reddit from other people with hypothyroidism. I learned that increased anxiety is fairly common with levothyroxine and usually levels off anywhere from a few days to several weeks. I learned that some people did better on an entirely different medication, some did better on smaller doses before easing into a larger dose, and that every individual has a different TSH “sweet spot” that makes them feel okay. My doctor did not give me options other than to stop taking it entirely and retest in three months. I am currently seeking another doctor for a second opinion.


Meanwhile, as much as I hate the answer of “diet and exercise,” I have researched ways to manipulate TSH levels through food or supplements. Selenium was a common nutrient in my research, as was vitamin A and vitamin D. I already get vitamin D with my calcium chews, and I added a daily gummy to my small but growing collection of medicine and supplements. When I can afford it, I will order myself a bag of Brazil nuts from Nuts.com and consume one or two a day to increase my selenium. I don’t know if it’s possible to get one’s TSH levels under control through diet, but I have three months to get a routine going before my next blood test.


I am certainly not opposed to modern medicine and necessary prescriptions, it just seems that my body hates them. It didn’t used to be this way, so I wonder if it’s the hormone changes, the disease I had in 2017, or just my overall lack of need for medication that has left me extremely sensitive. My grandma struggled with medication as well, and as much as I wish I had more of my father’s genetics when it comes to the immune system and ability to process toxins, I seem to have taken after my grandma.


I used to be unbreakable. I hate that I can’t just do what I want anymore. Menopause and whatever has done this to my body absolutely sucks.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Break

In my attempt to get healthier, I decided to get a bicycle and ride with my husband. It did not go as planned.

The Shoulder Complication

My cast is finally off, but an ongoing issue with my shoulder has become much worse. Thankfully, I finally found a doctor with answers.

bottom of page